Suzanne Rochon-Burnett Volunteer of the Year Award

Every year since 2006, the Suzanne Rochon-Burnett Volunteer of the Year Award is presented to a Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO) citizen who has made ongoing contributions to the Métis Nation and his or her own community.

The 2014 recipient was Senator Bob McKay, a Métis Knowledge Holder who has been
involved in the MNO Thunder Bay Métis Council for over 17 years. Senator McKay has
spent countless hours promoting Métis culture and heritage and in particular working with schools to teach young people about the Métis.
The 2015 Suzanne Rochon-Burnett Volunteer of the Year Award will be presented at the MNO Annual General Meeting (AGA) in Midland, August 22-24. If you know of a dedicated MNO citizen who deserves to be considered for the award, please think about nominating them. More information and nomination forms are available in the AGA section of the MNO website at
Greg Garratt And France Picotte (SRB Volunteer Award)
Greg Garratt was the 2017 recipient of the Suzanne Rochon
-Burnett Volunteer of the Year Award. Greg received the 
award from Acting MNO President France Picotte at the
MNO AGA that took place in Kenora. Click here for larger

The 2017 recipient was MNO Veterans' Council Secretary -Treasurer and Region 7 Captain of the Hunt Greg Garratt. Greg dedicates countless hours to the advancement of the Métis Nation of Ontario and is well-known for his dedication to Métis veterans and harvesters as well as his impressive contributions to the Region 7 Consultation Committee and his local community council.


The individuals nominated must exemplify the kind of volunteer contribution demonstrated by Suzanne Rochon-Burnett. They will have given generously of their time and effort, are strong advocates of the Métis Nation and their record of selfless commitment has been firmly established. They are seen as caring, giving individuals who others look up to and admire. The candidates will have provided an extended period of service as a volunteer.

About Dr. Suzanne Rochon-Burnett

Dr. Suzanne Rochon-Burnett was a founding member of the Métis Nation of Ontario. Named to the Order of Canada and the Order of Ontario, Suzanne was a member of the Canada Council and was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by Brock University where she served on the Board of Trustees. She was a recipient of a Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation and the first woman inducted into the Aboriginal Business Hall of Fame. Suzanne passed away in 2006. To honour her memory and recognize her outstanding service as a volunteer, in 2006, the Métis Nation of Ontario named Suzanne as the first recipient of the inaugural Volunteer of the Year Award, which now bears her name.

Past Recipients

Past winners of the award include:

Suzanne Rochon-Burnett, Richard Sarrazin, Senator Reta Gordon, Louise Goulding, Pauline Richardson, Senator Gordon Calder, Senator Marlene Greenwood, Senator Olivine Tiedema, Senator Brenda Powley, Senator Bob McKay. Ernie Gatien and Joseph Paquette

Updated on: August 31, 2017