MNO Citizens Awarded Queen’s Jubilee Medals

vetsmedalnsBack (left-right) Kerry McLaughlin, Senator Ray Bergie, Greg Garrett, Chris Plummer, Senator Gerry Bedford, Maurice Sarrazin, MNO President Gary Lipinski, Jean Camirand, Guy Mandeville, Senator Rene Gravelle and Senator George Kelly. 
Front (left to right) Senator Elmer Ross and Senator Earl Scofield.

On August 27, in a ceremony held at the Annual General Assembly (AGA) of the Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO), 18 MNO citizens received Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medals. The awards were presented by MNO President Gary Lipinski during a special ceremony held at the Roberta Bondar Pavilion in Sault Ste. Marie.

Ten of the medals were presented to MNO veterans, recognizing the long tradition of Métis service in defense of Canada that goes back as far as the War of 1812, as well as the dedication and sacrifice of each veteran. The veterans honoured included MNO citizens who had served in World War II, the Korean Conflict and numerous Canadian peacekeeping missions. The Veterans who received medals were:

Chris Plummer (Courtice), Senator Rene Gravelle (Val Caron), Guy Mandeville (Trenton), Senator George Kelly (Ottawa), Senator Earl Scofield (Lasalle), Senator Elmer Ross (Bobcaygeon), Greg Garrett (Penetanguishene), Kerry McLaughlin (Thunder Bay), Gerry Bedford (Orangeville), Senator Ray Bergie (Brampton), Jean Camirand (Thunder Bay) and Maurice Sarrazin (Val Caron).

jubileemedals(Left to right) Senator Bob McKay, MNO Chair France Picotte, Alvina Cimon, Senator Joseph Poitras, Senator Ruth Wagner

Queen’s Jubilee Medals 17
Jason Madden receives Jubilee Medal
from MNA President Audrey Poitras

Medals were also presented to five MNO citizens to acknowledge their long-term dedication to the cause of achieving Métis rights and self-government. Each of these individuals had served in leadership positions in the MNO at both the local and provincial levels for decades and helped build the foundation of the MNO. Much of the MNO’s current success is due to their efforts to build the nation. These medal recipients were:

Alvina Cimon (Dryden), Senator Ruth Wagner (Bracebridge), Senator Joe Poitras (Scarborough), Senator Bob McKay (Thunder Bay) and MNO Chair France Picotte (Timmins).

A special presentation of a Queen's Jubilee Medal was also made to Jason Madden by Métis Nation of Alberta President Audrey Poitras. Jason was recognized for his on-going and long-term dedication to Métis rights that started in his youth when he served as the Postsecondary represenative on the PCMNO, until today, where as a lawyer, he is one of the leading defenders of Aboriginal rights in Canada.

Click here to view a slide show of the Medal Presentations.