Group Photo from Pembrooke

The Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO) Peterborough and District Wapiti Métis Council (PDWMC) is an important communication hub for the MNO in its area and plays a significant role in fostering community empowerment and development. They are the democratic representatives for MNO citizens living within the geographic territory described in their MNO Community Charter Agreement.

The MNO PDWMC seeks to collectively promote our Métis culture as well as promote and foster prosperity and economic self-sufficiency within their community. They resolve to work towards the recognition and affirmation of our existing Aboriginal and treaty rights including our inherent right of self-determination and self-government.

The MNO PDWMC operates in accordance with their MNO Charter Agreement, which give them the mandate to govern, while ensuring accountability, transparency, and consistency. The Charter Agreements along with the Community Code and Community Electoral Code are the policy documents that the PDWMC refers to when holding mandatory community elections.


President — Christa Lemelin
Chair — Terra Knapp
Councillor — Joshua Charpentier
Councillor — Kristy Kennedy
Councillor — Gayelyn Heffernan
Secretary — Kaitlin Bloom
Senator — Terrance Bloom
Women’s — Taryn Blackstock
Youth — Morgan Turcotte

Contact our council:
Email at