Every year since 2006, the Suzanne Rochon-Burnett Volunteer of the Year is presented to a Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO) citizen who has made ongoing contributions to the MNO and their own community. If you know of a dedicated MNO citizen who deserves to be considered for the award please read the information below and complete the nomination form.

OBJECTIVE: The Volunteer of the Year Award recognizes individuals who contribute as a volunteer to the MNO year-round and have done so for a number of years. Each year a volunteer is named as the recipient of the Volunteer of the Year by a selection committee.

PROCESS: Any MNO citizen can nominate a volunteer by sending a completed Nomination Form via email to AGA2023@metisnation.org or by mail to the following address:

Volunteer of the Year Award Committee
Métis Nation of Ontario
1100 – 66 Slater Street
Ottawa, ON, K1P 5H1

CRITERIA: Individuals nominated will have: given generously of their time and effort; been strong advocates of the Métis Nation; have a firmly established record of selfless commitment; and be seen as caring, giving individuals that others look up to and admire. The candidates will have provided an extended period of service as a volunteer.



2023 – Anne-Marie Armstrong

2022 – Kathleen Anderson

2021 – Marie-Louise Perron

2020 – The 2020 Volunteer of the Year Award was unprecedented, as it was given to all the MNO Community Councils in recognition of their incredible efforts during the COVID-19 pandemic. MNO Community Council members truly went above and beyond to reach out to their communities in the very difficult conditions presented by the pandemic.

2019 – Mitchell Case

2018 – Peter Coture

2017 – Greg Garratt

2016 – Joseph Paquette

2015 – Ernest Gatien

2014 – Bob McKay

2013 – Brenda Powley

2012 – Marlene GreenwoodOlivine Bousquet-Tiedema

2011 – Gordon Calder

2010 – Pauline Saulnier

2009 – Louise Goulding

2008 – Richard Sarrazin

2007 – Reta Gordon

About the Award: Photo of Suzanne Rochon Burnett Dr. Suzanne Rochon-Burnett was a strong advocate for Métis rights recognition, both at the provincial and federal levels. Named to the Order of Canada and the Order of Ontario, Suzanne was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by Brock University where she served on the Board of Trustees. She was a recipient of a Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation and the first woman inducted into the Aboriginal Business Hall of Fame. Suzanne passed away in 2006. To honour her memory and recognize her outstanding service as a volunteer the MNO named Suzanne as the inaugural recipient of the award which now bears her name.