Participants and guests at the MNO Women’s Council gathering prior to the 2018 MNO Annual General Assembly in Peterborough in August.

The Métis Nation of Ontario Women’s Council (MNO Women’s Council) is comprised of Métis women from Ontario who are committed to promoting women’s issues and advocating on their behalf within the Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO) community. The MNO Women’s Council also advises the PCMNO on matters pertaining to women and works with community councils, Aboriginal boards, government bodies and women’s groups to assist Métis people with issues of concern specific to women. This work includes policy development and review, coordination, consultation, and education. The main goal of the MNO Women’s Council is to encourage the full participation of all women within the MNO in helping to build a strong and healthy nation. The MNO Women’s Council works with the Women of the Métis Nation.

In March of 2020 the Les Femmes Michif Otipemisiwak Women’s Forum was held in the National Capital Region. On Day 3 of the Forum MNO Senator Reta Gordon wrote and recited this prayer for our Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women, Girls, and Two-Spirit Sisters. Participants at the Forum prayed to the Creator to keep them safe and protect them and allow our sisters to be brought back to us and our families. The beadwork shown on the prayer was created by Velvet Migwans (nee Johnston) a past MNO employee.

Click here to view the MNO Women’s Council Mission and Vision Statement

The MNO Women’s Council consists of the Spokesperson and nine regional representatives. The current Council consists of the following:

  • President – Suzanne Jackson
  • Region 1 – Colette Surovy
  • Region 2 – Kelly Camacho
  • Region 3 – Santana Saftenberg
  • Region 4 – June Smart
  • Region 5 – Lynne Gouliquer 
  • Region 6 – Cora Bunn
  • Region 7 – Patricia Taylor
  • Region 8 – Luanne Cunningham
  • Region 9 – VACANT

For biographies of each member and to learn more about the work of the MNOWC please visit

Updated: September 20, 2023