Submitted by MNO Community Relations Coordinator Glen Lipinski

The MNO Niagara Region Métis Council (NRMC) and MNO staff were honoured with a Canada 150 Award on March 1, at the MNO office in Thorold. Included in the photo (left to right) are Donna Labbe, Rebecca VanderSanden, Amanda Pont-Shanks, MNO NRMC President Derrick Pont, Glen Lipinski, MNO NRMC Senator Garry Laframboise, Tammy Wintle, representative for MP Vance Badawey Lauren Aiello, and TerryLynn Longpre. Click here to view a larger version of this picture.

On March 1, the Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO) Niagara Region Métis Council (NRMC) was honoured with a Canada 150 award by Niagara Centre Member of Parliament (MP) and MNO citizen Vance Badawey.

The MNO NRMC and MNO Thorold office staff were recognized for their community building and volunteerism initiatives. The Canada 150 award was presented during a service provider event.

In 2017, MP Badawey commissioned a special commemorative medal to acknowledge the efforts of individuals and groups in Niagara Centre. Nominations were accepted until mid-July for individuals and groups exemplifying leadership in community building, volunteerism, environment, business, education, youth leadership, and senior leadership. Seventy-five people were chosen for the awards.

Recipients of the Canada 150 award were nominated anonymously by family, friends, neighbours and colleagues. The MNO NRMC would like to thank the nominator for recognizing their hard work and contributions to the community.

Posted: March 2, 2018