June 8, 2021 (Surrey, Edmonton, Saskatoon, Ottawa) — The Presidents of the Métis Nation British Columbia, Métis Nation of Alberta, Métis Nation–Saskatchewan and Métis Nation of Ontario are calling for Clément Chartier to immediately remove himself from any and all public involvement with MNC and the Métis Nation.

Four leaders that represent four governing members of the Métis Nation issued a joint statement outlining reasons for Mr. Chartier to step aside.

With recent and serious allegations coming to light against Mr. Chartier, the four presidents agree it is in the best interest of the Métis Nation for him to immediately cease claiming to speak on the MNC’s behalf.

“While the presumption of innocence is a universally accepted principle, this is the only appropriate action that maintains the integrity of the Métis Nation,” said the four presidents in the joint statement. “In this respect, we were deeply troubled to see Mr. Chartier speaking for Métis women at the launch of the National Action Plan to end violence against Indigenous women, girls and 2SLGBTQQIA+ people on June 3.”

Additionally, despite repeated requests, Mr. Chartier has refused to convene a meeting of the MNC Board of Governors since December 2018, and the MNC has had no General Assembly since July 2018.

“Métis Citizens are actively being denied their democratic right to elect their leaders,” they said in the statement. “Clément Chartier’s term as MNC President properly ended in 2020. Mr. Chartier also declared in 2019 that he would not be seeking re-election as MNC President. As such, Mr. Chartier has no remaining mandate as MNC President, and we do not recognize him as the current MNC President.”

The MNC Board of Governors will convene on June 22, 2021 to appoint an interim MNC President, as per the MNC bylaws, until an election can be held.

The Métis National Council is made up of democratically elected Métis governments in the provinces within the historic Métis homeland: the Manitoba Métis Federation, Métis Nation–Saskatchewan, Métis Nation of Alberta, Métis Nation British Columbia and Métis Nation of Ontario. Collectively, they constitute the General Assembly of the Métis National Council and its Board of Governors.