Senator McKay receives two OPSBA awards
MNO Senator Bob McKay and Suzanne Tardif, a
member of the Aboriginal Education Advisory Council,
with his OPSBA Achievement Award and Award of

Congratulations to Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO) Senator Bob McKay who has been chosen as the recipient of two Ontario Public School Board’s Association (OPSBA) awards, the 2014 Achievement Award and the 2014 Award of Excellence.

The OPSBA Achievement Award was created to recognize the outstanding contributions of non-teaching staff, parents, volunteers and community partners involved in public education. This award celebrates excellence and recognizes the work of all members of the education community.

Senator McKay has been a valued member of the Lakehead Public Schools Aboriginal Education Advisory Committee since 2008 and is involved in countless committees that represent the Thunder Bay Aboriginal community. Senator McKay lends his breadth of knowledge and skills to many Lakehead Public School events and activities. He is well known for his dedication to Lakehead Public Schools students and for his infectious sense of humour.

Senator Bob McKay was nominated for the OSPBA Achievement award by Suzanne Tardi, Parent Representative on the Aboriginal Education Advisory Committee for his efforts in supporting public education and the students at Lakehead Public Schools.

“When Senator McKay shares his stories, he not only helps children and youth understand an earlier way of life, he also helps to preserve the right cultural history of the Thunder Bay area,” says Suzanne Tardif in her letter of nomination.

The award was presented by the Trustees at the June 24 Board Meeting where Senator McKay was formally recognized for this exceptional accomplishment.

Senator McKay was also presented with the 2014 OPSBA Award of Excellence at the meeting. The OPSBA Awards Selection Committee of the Lakehead District School Board was unanimous in their decision to submit Senator McKay for this prestigious award. This annual award is given to an outstanding Ontario public school volunteer for outstanding community service and leadership.