Senior’s community Le Villageois secures new financing with help from MNO


Left to right: Paul Devillers, MNO citizen and former MP for Simcoe North; David Dusome, PCMNO Region 7 Councillor; Ursula D’Angelo, MNO Chief Financial Officer; Jo Anne Young, PCMNO Secretary-Treasurer; and Greg Garratt, President of Georgian Bay Métis Council.

The community at Le Villageois de Lafontaine in Tiny, Ontario is truly unique. From its central location in the heart of the Village of Lafontaine, to its proximity to parks, community centres and more, Le Villageois provides over 60 seniors with both a home, and a community.

And while the senior’s residence serves a diverse range of clientele, many of its residents are Métis.

This year, thanks to the efforts of the local community leaders, and investments of VanCity Community Investment Bank and the Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO) Prosperity Trust, a mortgage has been secured for the senior’s residence that will provide Le Villageois with the financial stability needed to thrive as it continues to provide a valuable service to Tiny’s aging population.

On January 27, 2023 a celebration was held at Le Villageois to recognize the hard work and accomplishments of the many staff, volunteers and financiers who made the senior’s home possible and ensures its longevity.

Villageois serves over 60 clients and is made up of 37 apartments and 24 studio apartments.

Rosita M. Des Roche, the President and a tenant of Le Villageois was one of the first to make Le Villageois a home, moving herself and her spouse into the residence in September 2009.

For her, Le Villageois provides a valuable service to the community and is a long-time dream realized.

“The project began as a dream in 1998, we wanted to create a space for seniors (55+) that would provide an independence and dignity for clients while fulfilling their social, cultural, physical, emotional and spiritual needs,” comments Rosita. “Today it’s truly like a big family, everyone looks out for everyone else.”

The MNO would like to extend its gratitude to all those involved in realizing this dream, including support from the Georgian Bay Community Council and thanks those who attended the celebration.


Left to right: Louis Maheu, Ruth Thompson, Angélina Peters, Michelle Maurice, Ron LePage, Rosita M. DesRoches, Ghisèle Maurice, Shirley Desroches and Victor Brunelle