Algoma awards
MNO Bursary recipients who were present at the Algoma University Student
Awards ceremony. (Left to right) Bernadette Pizzey, Kristal Strawbridge,
Diandra Bellerose and Corey Caple.

On January 15, Algoma University celebrated the academic achievements of its students at its 20th Annual Algoma University Student Awards. Among the numerous awards, 11 Métis students were presented with the Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO) Bursary.

The MNO Bursary is one way the MNO strives to create more opportunities for Métis students in post-secondary education. Recognizing the absence of dedicated post-secondary financial assistance for Métis students, the MNO initiated its bursary program in 1998. Today, 36 post-secondary institutions across Ontario offer the bursary.

Recipients of the bursary include: Diandra Bellerose, Corey Caple, Mitchell Case, Kimberly Cavanagh, Megan Gjos, Jocelyn Moreau, Bernadette Pizzey, Taylor Smith, Kristal Strawbridge, Chelsey-Ann Waddell and Lyndsay-Lee Waddell.

Congratulations to these deserving Métis students!

Click here to learn more about the MNO Bursary Program.