Peterborough Charter Signed
(Left to right) Front row: Pauline Saulnier (Regional Councillor),
Terry Bloom (Interim President), Gary Lipinski (MNO President),
France Picotte (MNO Chair) Back row: Brad Hodgson,
Debra Malandrino, Andy Dufrane (Senator) Chrystal Lemelin,
Steve Bloom, Jason Dufrane

On, June 29, 2011 a Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO) Community Charter signing ceremony took place in Peterborough. The signing ceremony officially established the Peterborough and District Wapiti Métis Council. “Métis citizens are the foundation of the MNO,” explained MNO President Gary Lipinski, “and at the local level they are represented through MNO Charter Community Councils. The Councils are an important part of the MNO’s push towards its inherent right to self-government. The local Councils are also communication hubs for the MNO and play a significant role in fostering community empowerment and development.”
The Charter agreement was signed by Terry Bloom, Interim President of the Peterborough and District Wapiti Métis Council, MNO President Gary Lipinski and MNO Chair France Picotte. “We have worked hard,” stated President Bloom, “to put this Charter in place and we are looking forward to using it to build an even stronger Métis Nation Community Council here in Peterborough.”

“I congratulate the Peterborough and District Wapiti Métis Council for all their efforts to get their Community Charter Agreement signed,” commented President Lipinski, “the dedication that brought us here today demonstrates what can be achieved by working together to advance Métis Rights and improve the social well being of Métis citizens, families and communities, The Métis citizens in the Peterborough area will be well served by those who have stepped forward to advance issues important to the community.”