By Zoey Duncan of Fort Frances On-line

sunset-electionThe Newly elected Sunset Country Interim Métis Councill (left to
right): Randy Carmody, Jim McMahon, Valorie Pelepetz, John
George, Roz Calder Mona-Rose Morrisseau, Eric Fagerdahl,
Wanda Botsford, Clint Calder and Theresa Stenlund (Regional
Councillor) Missing Michele Tymkin and Garrick Isensee.

On May 4, the Sunset Country Métis elected an enthusiastic interim community council in Fort Frances. Interim council members, who comprise the local government for the area’s Métis population, will serve for up to a year until a full election is held.

“We’re trying to reinvigorate our council,” noted Clint Calder, who was re-elected as president last night.

“So the idea was to have a community meeting, explain to the community some of the developments that have happened over the last few years, and tell them the opportunities that the Sunset Country Métis will be having over the next few years,” he explained. “And try and get more people involved on council to move our agenda forward.”

Other returning council members are Mona-Rose Morrisseau as chair, Roz Calder as secretary, and Garrick Isensee as the youth representative.

Newly-elected members include Val Pelepetz as treasurer, John George as Senator and Michelle Tymkin as the women’s representative. Wanda Botsford, Eric Fagerdahl, Randy Carmody, and Jim McMahon also were elected as councilors.

Clint Calder said upcoming issues for the council include securing funding for repairs to the Sunset Country Métis Hall and office, creating low-income housing for local Métis families, and engaging citizens in land consultation processes.

View the following link to see the original story: