Métis Nation of Ontario President Margaret Froh, Métis Nation – Saskatchewan President Glen McCallum and Métis Nation of Alberta President Audrey Poitras.

A historic meeting of the Métis Governments of Ontario, Saskatchewan and Alberta is taking place this week in Edmonton, Alberta from January 14 – 16, 2020. The Tri-Council session brings together the three democratically elected councils of the Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO), the Métis Nation – Saskatchewan (MNS) and the Métis Nation of Alberta (MNA) along with other key representatives.

The three Métis governments all signed Self-Government Agreements with Canada this past June and are using this collaborative forum to share information, discuss best practices and outline joint priorities. On January 14, the Tri-Council session kicked off at Métis Crossing — a Métis cultural interpretive centre near Edmonton — where MNA President Audrey Poitras welcomed delegates to Alberta and urged them to embrace all of our Métis stories whether they are from Alberta, Saskatchewan or Ontario.

MNS President Glen McCallum and MNO President Margaret Froh echoed President Poitras’ sentiments and expressed appreciation for this opportunity to come together, roll up their sleeves and move forward on behalf of all Métis citizens. Delegates to the Tri-Council session gave thanks to the commitment and struggles of the leaders that came before and expressed a desire to get on with the work of advancing the self-determination and self-government dreams of our Métis ancestors. The Tri-Council session continues until January 16, 2020 with meetings focussed on common priorities, highlighting best practices and next steps in the implementation of the Self-Government Agreements.

To view the video recap of day one from PCMNO Youth Rep Mitch Case click here

To learn more please see Métis Governments of Ontario, Saskatchewan and Alberta Conclude Successful Meeting in Edmonton