Métis Nation of Ontario Senators

MNO Senators at the 2016 AGA. Back row (L-R): Larry Duval, Parmillia Burgie, Terry
Bloom, Ray Bergie, Blair Sterling, Carol Levis, Bill Morrison, Cecile Coutu, Roland
St. Germain, Garry Laframboise, John Van Wyck, Ken Simard, Gerry Bedford, Brian
Gouliquer, Patsy Dryden, Al Roussin, John George, Robert Lloyd, Eugene Content,
Romeo Sarrazin. Front row (L-R): Alis Kennedy, Karen Cederwall, Constance Simmonds,
Marlene Greenwood, Audrey Vallee, Joseph Poitras, Reta Gordon, Rene Gravelle,
Verna Porter-Brunelle, Maryjane Buttenham, Brenda Powley, Parmallia Burgie,
Cecile Wagar. Click here to view a larger version of the picture.

Senators have a special place in Métis culture, the Métis Nation of Ontario and in its governance structure. Highly respected for their knowledge, values, and experience.

Senators provide an elder’s presence at community events and meetings, and they help to keep Métis culture alive by sharing Métis traditions and ways of life. One Senator sits as a member of each Community Council and a total of four Senators, including one Executive Senator, sit on the PCMNO.

PCMNO Executive Senator

Joseph Poitras

PCMNO Senators

Rene Gravelle

Verna Porter-Brunelle

Joseph Poitras

Ray Bergie

MNO Chartered Community Council Senators

MNO Atikokan and Area Métis Council – Senator Brian Gouliquer
MNO Chapleau Métis Council - VACANT
MNO Clear Waters Métis Council – Maryjane Buttenham
MNO Credit River Métis Council - Senator Bill Morrison
MNO Georgian Bay Métis Council - Senator Ray Bergie 
MNO Greenstone Métis Council - Senator Patsy Dryden
MNO Grand River Métis Council - Senator Carol Levis
MNO Great Lakes Métis Council – Interim Senator Ralph Wolf Thistle
MNO High Land Waters Métis Council - Senator Robert Lloyd Sr.
MNO Historic Sault Ste. Marie Métis Council - Senator Brenda Powley
MNO Kenora Métis Council - Senator Karen Cederwall
MNO Mattawa Métis Council - Senator Romeo Sarrazin
MNO Moon River Métis Council - Interim Senator Larry Duval
MNO Niagara Region Métis Council - Senator Garry Laframboise
MNO North Bay Métis Council - Senator Marlene Greenwood
MNO North Channel Métis Council - Senator Blair Sterling
MNO Northern Lights Métis Council - Senator Eugene Contant
MNO Northwest Métis Council - Senator Alphonse Roussin
MNO Oshawa and Durham Métis Council - Senator Cecile Wagar
MNO Ottawa Métis Regional Council - Senator Parmallia Burgie
MNO Peterborough and District Wapiti Métis Council - Senator Terry Bloom
MNO Sudbury Métis Council - Senator Cecile Coutu
MNO Sunset Country Métis Council - Senator John George
MNO Superior North Shore Métis Council – Paul Turpin
MNO Temiskaming Métis Council – VACANT
MNO Thunder Bay Métis Council – Senator Ken Simard
MNO Timmins Métis Council – Senator Pierre Lefebvre
MNO Toronto-York Region Métis Council – Senator Constance Simmonds
MNO Windsor-Essex Métis Council – Senator Jim Turner

Veterans Senator

Senator Dr. Alis Kennedy

Honourary Senators

Senator Gerry Bedford
Senator Gordon Calder
Senator Reta Gordon
Senator Roland St.Germain
Senator Olivine Tiedema
Senator Audrey Vallee
Senator Ruth Wagner

Updated on: November 24, 2016