The Provisional Council of the Métis Nation of Ontario (PCMNO)

The Provisional Council of the Métis Nation of Ontario (PCMNO) takes its direction from, and is required to report to its citizens or citizen representatives at Annual General Assemblies. The PCMNO is comprised of a five member Executive, nine Regional Councillors, four Senators, a Youth Representative and a Post-Secondary Representative. Women’s interests are represented by the Vice-Chair. The members of the PCMNO are elected through democratic ballot box elections and represent members of the Métis community across the province.

The role of the PCMNO is to assist in the decision-making process and determine priorities for the future. With province wide representation, the PCMNO offers a forum for debate and deliberation that helps to ensure the MNO will continue to grow as a unified nation of Métis people.


Margaret Froh, President

Margaret Froh

President Margaret Froh was elected in May 2016 and lives in Barrie, Ontario. President Froh is the first female President of the Métis Nation of Ontario. She is a Métis lawyer and educator who received her law degree from the University of Toronto. President Froh is a past President of the Indigenous Bar Association in Canada (IBA), a national association of Métis, First Nation and Inuit lawyers, judges, law professors and law students. Prior to her election as MNO President and Chief Executive Officer, President Froh served as the MNO's Director of Strategic Policy, Law and Compliance and as MNO's Associate Chief Operating Officer. 


France Picotte, Chair

FrancePicotteChair Picotte succeeded President Lipinski as chair of the MNO in 2008. She first became involved in Métis politics when she served as President of the MNO Timmins Métis Council and then later became PCMNO Vice-Chair. Chair Picotte is a strong woman and proud MNO citizen. She is fluent in Michif, English and French.


Sharon Cadeau, Vice-Chair

SharonMcBrideVice-Chair McBride has served as MNO Vice-Chair and spokesperson for the Métis Nation of Ontario Women's Secretariat (WSMNO) since 2008. She became actively involved in Métis politics in 1999 when she first learned of her Métis ancestry. She was founding president of the MNO Credit River Métis Council and has served as a PCMNO councillor for Region 8.


Tim Pile, Secretary-Treasurer

TimPileSecretary-Treasurer Pile has served on the PCMNO since 2001. As Secretary-Treasurer, he is Chair of the Finance Committee and he also serves as Provincial Secretary of Infinity Property Services. He was born in the Northwestern Ontario gold-mining town of Geraldton, but traces his Métis roots to Peace River, Alberta.


Senator Reta Gordon, Executive

RetaGordonSenator Gordon was a founding member of the MNO and has been actively sharing Métis culture since 1993. She became the Senator for the MNO Ottawa Métis Council in 1999 and was elected PCMNO Executive Senator in 2002. Over the past 17 years, Senator Gordon has represented the MNO at hundreds of gatherings and events. Senator Gordon is very proud of her Métis culture and is always open to sharing her knowledge with audiences young and old.




Senator Rene Gravelle


Senator Verna


Senator Joseph Poitras

Regional Councillors


Theresa Stenlund, Councillor - Region 1


Cam Burgess, Councillor – Region 2


Marcel Lafrance, Councillor – Region 3

Ernest Gatien

Ernest Gatien, Councillor - Region 4

Daniel Boulard

Daniel Boulard, Councillor - Region 5


Tom Thompson Jr., Councillor – Region 6


Pauline Richardson, Councillor - Region 7


Anita Tucker, Councillor - Region 8


Peter Rivers, Councillor - Region 9


Katelyn LaCroix

Katelyn LaCroix, 


Mitchell Case, 

Mailing Address:

500 Old St. Patrick Street, Unit D
Ottawa, ON K1N 9G4
Phone: 613-798-1488
Toll Free: 1-800-263-4889
Fax: 613-722-4225

Back to top