The Provisional Council of the Métis Nation of Ontario (PCMNO)

The Provisional Council of the Métis Nation of Ontario (PCMNO) takes its direction from, and is required to report to its citizens or citizen representatives at Annual General Assemblies. The PCMNO is comprised of a five member Executive, nine Regional Councillors, four Senators, a Youth Representative and a Post-Secondary Representative. Women’s interests are represented by the Vice-Chair. The members of the PCMNO are elected through democratic ballot box elections and represent members of the Métis community across the province.

The role of the PCMNO is to assist in the decision-making process and determine priorities for the future. With province wide representation, the PCMNO offers a forum for debate and deliberation that helps to ensure the MNO will continue to grow as a unified nation of Métis people.

Executive

Gary Lipinski, President

GaryLipinskiPresident Lipinski hails from Fort Frances, Ontario where he was born, raised and still currently resides. His Métis roots go deep as his ancestors were part of the group of Métis who negotiated the "half-breed" adhesion to Treaty No.3. President Lipinski comes from a long line of Métis commercial fishermen and traditional resource users and continues today to practice the Métis traditional way of life. Learn more about President Lipinski.

Contact: garyl@metisnation.org

France Picotte, Chair

FrancePicotteChair Picotte succeeded President Lipinski as chair of the MNO in 2008. She first became involved in Métis politics when she served as present of the MNO Timmins Métis Council and then later became PCMNO Vice-Chair. Chair Picotte is a strong woman and proud MNO citizen. She is fluent in Michif, English and French.

Contact: francep@metisnation.org

Sharon McBride, Vice-Chair

SharonMcBrideVice-Chair McBride has served as MNO Vice-Chair and spokesperson for the Métis Nation of Ontario Women's Secretariat (WSMNO) since 2008. She became actively involved in Métis politics in 1999 when she first learned of her Métis ancestry. She was founding president of the MNO Credit River Métis Council and has served as a PCMNO councillor for Region 8.

Contact: sharonm@metisnation.org

Tim Pile, Secretary-Treasurer

TimPileSecretary-Treasurer Pile has served on the PCMNO since 2001. As Secretary-Treasurer, he is Chair of the Finance Committee and he also serves as Provincial Secretary of Infinity Property Services. He was born in the Northwestern Ontario gold-mining town of Geraldton, but traces his Métis roots to Peace River, Alberta.

Contact: timp@metisnation.org

Senator Reta Gordon, Executive

RetaGordonSenator Gordon was a founding member of the MNO and has been actively sharing Métis culture since 1993. She became the Senator for the MNO Ottawa Métis Council in 1999 and was elected PCMNO Executive Senator in 2002. Over the past 17 years, Senator Gordon has represented the MNO at hundreds of gatherings and events. Senator Gordon is very proud of her Métis culture and is always open to sharing her knowledge with audiences young and old.

Contact: retag@metisnation.org

Senators

ReneGravelle

Senator Rene Gravelle     
renewgravelle@outlook.com

VernaBrunelle

Senator Verna
Porter-Brunelle
hummingbird50@live.ca

JosephPoitras

Senator Joseph Poitras

joseph.poitras@sympatico.ca

Regional Councillors

TheresaStenlund

Theresa Stenlund, Councillor - Region 1

theresas@kmts.ca

CamBurgess

Cam Burgess, Councillor – Region 2

cameronb@metisnation.org

MarcelLafrance

Marcel Lafrance, Councillor – Region 3

lafrancem@hotmail.com

Ernest Gatien

Ernest Gatien, Councillor - Region 4

goalagame@hotmail.com

JulietteDenis

Juliette Denis, Councillor - Region 5

jsdenis@persona.ca

TomThompsonJr

Tom Thompson Jr. , Councillor – Region 6

thomas.t.hwmc@hotmail.com

PaulineSaulnier

Pauline Saulnier, Councillor - Region 7

paulines@metisnation.org

AnitaTucker

Anita Tucker, Councillor - Region 8

anitat@metisnation.org

PeterRivers

Peter Rivers, Councillor - Region 9

rivers_peter@hotmail.com

Representatives

JenniferHenry

Jennifer Henry, Post-Secondary Representative

jenniferhenry2@trentu.ca

MitchCase

Mitchell Case, Youth Representative

mitch.case@hotmail.com

 

Mailing Address:

500 Old St. Patrick Street, Unit D
Ottawa, ON K1N 9G4
Phone: 613-798-1488
Toll Free: 1-800-263-4889
Fax: 613-722-4225

Back to top